Teaching Experience PRIOR TO mATHS dON'T pANIC

Lecturer in Mathematics April 2007 - December 2012
A-Level Mathematics (AS and A2: Pure Core Maths, Mechanics, Decision); GCSE Mathematics (Higher and Foundation); GCSE Statistics; Access to Higher Education Mathematics; Specialist numeracy teaching (students with specific learning difficulties); A-level and Access to H.E. tutor groups.
"Personal Skills Development" Co-ordinator August 2003 - April 2007
Coordinating and delivering academic learning support; teaching mathematics to individuals and groups (levels ranging from pre-GCSE to AS); teaching Level Two 'Certificate in Adult Learner Support' and Level Three 'Adult Numeracy Subject Support' courses; supporting students with dyslexia and other specific learning difficulties; organising staff timetables; liaising with students, parents, teachers, support staff and managers across the college.
Maths Teacher / Dyslexia Co-ordinator January 1996 - August 2003
Adult numeracy teacher; coordinator for dyslexia provision (assessments and support); Mathematics teacher (GCSE, Access to H. E.); Maths and Dyslexia workshops; individual maths support; teaching 'Initial Certificate in Teaching Basic Skills'; writing and delivering courses: "Maths - Don't Panic!" (for adults who fear mathematics) and "Make Maths Fun!" (family numeracy - for parents of young children); private tutoring in mathematics.
  Prior to 1996, and other relevant work
Primary school class teacher; running lunchtime Maths Clubs in primary school; deputy play leader on holiday play scheme for 5-19 year olds with severe learning difficulties; respite care / sitting service for children with autism.

Educational Background

Westhill College of Higher Education 1991 - 1995
Bachelor of Education degree (Main subject Mathematics) First Class Honours
London Language and Literacy Unit / Southbank University 1998
Adult Dyslexia Support Certificate  
University of Warwick 1998 - 1999
Post-graduate Certificate in Mathematics Education  

Pre-Higher Education level:

Wyggeston Girls' Grammar School, Leicester 1974 - 1979
GCE 'O' Levels including:  
Mathematics Grade A
Additional Mathematics Grade A
English Grade A
Physics Grade A
Chemistry Grade A
Biology Grade A
Fircroft College of Adult Education, Birmingham 1989 - 1981
Access to Higher Education Diploma  
Stourbridge College / Halesowen College 1991 - 1992
CACDP British Sign Language Stage One  

Revising/Consolidating Subject Knowledge prior to teaching relevant modules:

Halesowen College, West Midlands
A-Level Mathematics Grade A 2007
AS Further Mathematics Grade A 2011

Testimonials

Because Rachel never doubted my ability to pass, I passed the test first time.
Megan, QTS Numeracy student (Professional Skills Test).

I would recommend Rachel to anyone... She is able to teach people of all ages and abilities.
Dione, mother of two students.

Rachel knew my abilities and the way I learnt best, and adapted teaching to fit this... I could answer questions which I previously wouldn't have even attempted
Alex, GCSE student.

Rachel makes Year 6 maths enjoyable, fun and practical. Would recommend.
Kate, Mother of a Year 6 student.

Highly recommended!
Jonathan, A2 student.

Grades improved from F to D/low C in under 12 months.
Lois, GCSE student.

I would strongly recommend Rachel...
Emily, Year 10 student.

"Clear explanations of many different methods... perfect for my learning styles."

"Great access to material... very good amount of homework..."

"...would recommend to anyone...a fantastic course."

Students on 'QTS Numeracy - Don't Panic!' taught course

Great amount of resources available...I feel I can smash this exam!
Sam, GCSE student.

Positive feedback helped with her confidence.
Mother of a GCSE student.

Well planned Lessons! Good use of a variety of teaching materials from computers to workbooks!
Nick, father of a GCSE student.

Rachel is a fantastic tutor... I would heartily recommend her.
Dawn, mother of a 14 year old student.

"Good explanations... excellent shortcuts and quick calculations."

"Attending your seminar did wonders!"

QTS Numeracy Workshop participants

Creative learning, she has really enjoyed it.
Jane, mother of a 7 year old student.

Very helpful and professional, great to work with!
Amy, GCSE student.

Rachel is an excellent lecturer. My son is Autistic and his progress is outstanding both in his Maths and his social awareness...
Jane, mother of an A2 student.

Rachel is the most patient and supportive tutor I have ever known....
Michaela, an adult learner.

Thank you for bringing energy and enthusiasm to maths...
Hannah, a GCSE maths student.

 

Location

I am based in Quarry Bank in the West Midlands (near Merry Hill shopping centre) and am happy to travel up to about ten miles depending on the time required. On Sundays I am often available to tutor in Worcester. (Locations further than ten miles may be possible, with travel costs charged as extra.)

Please contact me to discuss your needs.

 
 
Rachel Griew Teaching Experience