About Rachel Griew

I am a freelance maths teacher offering individual tuition in Stourbridge, Halesowen, Brierley Hill, Edgbaston and surrounding areas in the West Midlands.

I can also offer workshop sessions and a taught course for QTS Numeracy Test preparation, and revision workshops for GCSE and A-Level Maths in the run-up to exams.

I have twenty four years experience teaching mathematics to classes and individuals at a range of levels and ages. My experience as a successful GCSE and A-level class teacher informs my work as a tutor, giving students access to expertise with exam questions and marking schemes as well as mathematical understanding and methods. Providing individual tuition has given me insight into students' experiences of maths education; this enriches my classroom practice. Teaching very able students, as well as those with specific learning difficulties or autistic spectrum conditions, has enabled me to flexibly adapt teaching and communication to the needs of students. Working with adults who struggle with maths has deepened my insight into differences in learning; this enhances my teaching of both individuals and groups. I have a drive to share my enthusiasm for maths with students, making lessons enjoyable, building confidence and increasing learning.

I have a current DBS Enhanced Certificate dated February 2015.

General Background

I have enjoyed maths since childhood and first thought of teaching it at around age eleven; then I forgot that thought for a decade or two. Returning to education after a ten year absence I did an Access to Higher Education course and then trained as a primary teacher (ages 7-12) with maths as my main subject. That gave me two years' worth of degree level maths as part of a four year Bachelor of Education degree (First Class Honours). During this time I worked during the holidays on a play scheme for children and young people with severe learning difficulties, and also spent time as a volunteer in adult numeracy classes.

In addition to mathematics I enjoy dancing, reading, juggling, camping, travelling, flying kites, playing games, cycling and running. I also have a love of language and am trying to teach myself Swedish.  Last year I started learning to skateboard; this year I am rediscovering horse-riding!

Latest News

Book tuition for next term now

Summer holiday tuition available. Please contact me for details of availability


Tuition in your home or my classroom (near Merry Hill)

Testimonials

Because Rachel never doubted my ability to pass, I passed the test first time.
Megan, QTS Numeracy student (Professional Skills Test).

I would recommend Rachel to anyone... She is able to teach people of all ages and abilities.
Dione, mother of two students.

Rachel knew my abilities and the way I learnt best, and adapted teaching to fit this... I could answer questions which I previously wouldn't have even attempted
Alex, GCSE student.

Rachel makes Year 6 maths enjoyable, fun and practical. Would recommend.
Kate, Mother of a Year 6 student.

Highly recommended!
Jonathan, A2 student.

Grades improved from F to D/low C in under 12 months.
Lois, GCSE student.

I would strongly recommend Rachel...
Emily, Year 10 student.

"Clear explanations of many different methods... perfect for my learning styles."

"Great access to material... very good amount of homework..."

"...would recommend to anyone...a fantastic course."

Students on 'QTS Numeracy - Don't Panic!' taught course

Great amount of resources available...I feel I can smash this exam!
Sam, GCSE student.

Positive feedback helped with her confidence.
Mother of a GCSE student.

Well planned Lessons! Good use of a variety of teaching materials from computers to workbooks!
Nick, father of a GCSE student.

Rachel is a fantastic tutor... I would heartily recommend her.
Dawn, mother of a 14 year old student.

"Good explanations... excellent shortcuts and quick calculations."

"Attending your seminar did wonders!"

QTS Numeracy Workshop participants

Creative learning, she has really enjoyed it.
Jane, mother of a 7 year old student.

Very helpful and professional, great to work with!
Amy, GCSE student.

Rachel is an excellent lecturer. My son is Autistic and his progress is outstanding both in his Maths and his social awareness...
Jane, mother of an A2 student.

Rachel is the most patient and supportive tutor I have ever known....
Michaela, an adult learner.

Thank you for bringing energy and enthusiasm to maths...
Hannah, a GCSE maths student.

 

Location

I am based in Quarry Bank in the West Midlands (near Merry Hill shopping centre) and am happy to travel up to about ten miles depending on the time required. On Sundays I am often available to tutor in Worcester. (Locations further than ten miles may be possible, with travel costs charged as extra.)

Please contact me to discuss your needs.

 
 
Rachel Griew maths tutor Stourbridge, maths tutor Halesowen, maths tutor Dudley, maths tutor West Midlands